The Beginning

My dear family and friends,

I want to officially welcome you to my blog and to my adventure this coming year in Bradford, England.  Here you’ll be able to join me as I share photos, stories and experiences.

I’ve been in Bradford now for roughly 24 hours and what an amazing 24 hours it’s been.  A few highlights from my first day consisted of a walk through horse pastures and picking wild blackberries, and in typical British fashion I was greeted with a nice cup of tea on a rainy, cloudy day.  I am very much looking forward to learning more about my new community and the British culture.

“Two roads diverged in a wood, and I-I took the one less traveled by, and that has made all the difference.” -from The Road Not Taken by Robert Frost.  The theme of this blog is based on the well known poem by Robert Frost. This is a favorite poem of mine, which really connects to the year ahead.  I will soon be embarking on a new chapter in my life, one that will be completely new to me.  I will experience living away from home in a new country, with a new culture.  Full of ups and downs and new experiences.  This a road I have not traveled, and I feel blessed to share it with you.  I hope this blog serves as a reminder and encourages you all to seek out those roads less traveled in your own lives, and to take it.  It may just make all the difference. .

I want to say thank you to my family and friends, to all who donated money, and to all who have and continue to support me in a plethora of ways.  A special thank you to the good people of Yellowstone Club in Montana, Hope Lutheran Church in Bozeman, Montana, and Decorah Lutheran Church and First Lutheran Church in Decorah, Iowa.

Peace and Blessings,

Erik1280px-Flag_of_the_United_Kingdom.svg

 

 

Leave a Reply

